Recent Videos

  • Italy 1-2 Mexico: Disappointing results

    World Cup defending champion, Italy, picking disappointing results in a trial match against Mexico. GLI Azzurri were forced to swallow defeat with the score 1-2.

    Playing at a neutral arena, King Baudouin Stadium, Brussels, Thursday (03/06/2010), Italy coach Marcello Lippi fielded an unusual formation, namely 4-2-3-1.

    Alberto Gilardino GLI spearhead the Azzurri, with overlaid by three attacking midfielders, ie, Vincenzo Iaquinta and Antonio Di Natale and Claudio Marchisio as wings as trequartista.

    Only three minutes of the game is running, the Italian had threatened. From a corner kick Andrea Pirlo, Iaquinta's header towards goal but ignored by Mexico goalkeeper Oscar Perez.

    Mexican surprise when the game entered the 17th minute. Giovani Dos Santos off a cross from the right wing who successfully forwarded by Carlos Vela with a kick for a goal that brought Mexico to lead 1-0.

    Minute 28, Perez Mexican goalkeeper saved again, this time after he dismissed the ball out of the field is released by Pirlo with a free kick from 30 meters distance.

    In the second half, Lippi did a little change of tactics to include Simone Pepe replaces Di Natale. Italy was playing with a 4-4-2 formation with Pepe, Gilardino up front.

    However, goals from Italy sought not being born. In fact, in 83 minutes they conceded a second time through Alberto Medina kick from close range after a pass from an offside trap.

    Italy to reduce the gap on 89 minutes through a kick Leonardo Bonucci. These goals are born after a goal mouth crisis in Mexico following a kick and Giampaolo Pazzini Salvatore Bocchetti.

    There are no additional goals else created until the long whistle sounded, so Mexico was entitled to the victory 2-1.

    Team Line-up:
    Italy: Buffon, Zambrotta (Maggio 63), Bonucci, Cannavaro (Bocchetti 87), Criscito; Pirlo (Palombo 81), De Rossi (Quagliarella 75); Iaquinta, Marchisio, Di Natale (Pepe 46), Gilardino (Pazzini 63)

    Mexico: Perez; Aguilar, Rodriguez (Moreno 69), Osorio, Salcido; Juarez (Guardado 86), Marquez (Barrera 46), Torrado, Giovani Dos Santos (Medina 52), Hernandez (Blanco 70), Vela (Castro 82)


Leave a Reply