Recent Videos

  • USA 1-0 Algeria: Donovan dramatic strikes

    U.S. finally passes to the next round to make sure after beating Algeria 1-0. Landon Donovan scored dramatically at injury time to bring the U.S. to win Group C.

    In the match at Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Wednesday (06/23/2010), Algeria is more to dominate the match. While the U.S. had several chances but no goals are created until the end of a long whistle.

    In the second half the game also runs very tight. Several times a dangerous chance of the U.S. successfully thwarted by goalkeeper Rais Bolhi. But Donovan finally defeat the Algeria goalkeeper in injury time goal by utilizing Jozy Altidore strikes that denied brilliantly by goal keeper.

    U.S. victory over Algeria ten players making the U.S. into the Group C champion by collecting five points or points that accomplishes the same as the British had just defeated Slovenia 1-0. Yet America is far more superior goal difference.

    The match

    Since the beginning, Algeria is more dominant than the U.S. game. Both teams attacked each other game shows, but also survived the attack behind the opponent.

    The first attack began in the 6th minute through Rafik Djebbour kick but still hit the crossbar.

    A minute later, the U.S. turn to strike back by Hercules Gomez kicks but still could be saved by goalkeeper Rais Bolhi.

    21 minutes, U.S. goalkeeper Clint Dempsey hacked in Algeria after the chaos in front of goal but the judge declared offside line. Dempsey and Landon Donovan also had filed a protest to the referee.

    At minute 35, Dempsey returned to threaten the goal of Algeria through his right leg kick thanks to bait Donovan but again could still detained Bolhi.

    The crisis occurred again in front of goal Algerian 37th minute, Altidore snatched the ball from Rais Bolhi vomit, but still far soared above the goal.

    38th minute, hard kick Karim Matmour from outside the penalty box can still be ignored by Howard.

    Karim Ziani 43-minute kick back hard from far away to the U.S. goal but his kick was wide. A minute before halftime, heading Djebbour almost scored a goal chance through hull bait Nadir Belhadj, but has still not managed to produce a goal.

    The first half ended goalless draw.

    In the second round, Gomez pulled out replaced Benny Feilhaber. Appear to attack the U.S. directly. In minute 47, Matmour pushed into the goal area Howard alone, but the line judge raised the flag first.

    In the 56th minute to trim the cooperation between the Donovan-Dempsey, Altidore almost led to goals. However, unfortunately hard kick Dempsey still hit the right goalpost mast Algeria.

    65 minutes, again stormed the U.S. thin-kick past goalkeeper Algeria Feilhaber can still be achieved by Bolhi.

    Again Bolhi be a hero. Altidore's header and Buddle successfully pushed over right in front of goal on 68 minutes. Hose a minute later, Ziani directly attack back through the U.S. defense, but his kick off the left goalpost.

    Bolhi again showed his toughness with a hard kick aside from Michael Bradley's free-kick in the 79th minute.

    The referee then announces the addition of time of four minutes. U.S. finally able to break the deadlock on 91 minutes through hard kick by utilizing cross Donovan Altidore.

    Coming to the end of the match, Algeria had to play with 10 players after the captain was expelled from the field by the referee for a second yellow card in the 93rd minute. It is unclear why he was rewarded the card, but the referee thought because of the protests.

    Team Line-up:

    United States: 1-Tim Howard; 6-Steve Cherundolo, 15-Jay DeMerit, 12-Jonathan Bornstein (7-DaMarcus Beasley 80), 3-Carlos Bocanegra, 10-Landon Donovan, 4-Michael Bradley, 19-Maurice Edu ( 14-Edson Buddle 64), 8-Clint Dempsey; 17-Jozy Altidore, 9-Hercules Gomez (22-Benny Feilhaber 46).

    Algeria: 23-Rais Ouheb Mbouli; 2-Majid Bougherra, Rafik Halliche five-, four-Inter-Yahia, 3-Nader Belhadj, 21-Fouad Kadir, 19-Hassan Yebda, 8-Medhi Lacen, 15-Karim Ziani (17 - Adlane Guedioura 69), 11-Rafik Djebbour (9-Abdelkader Ghezzal 65), 13-Karim Matmour (10-Rafik Saifi 85).


Leave a Reply