Recent Videos

  • Peru 0-2 Uruguay: Suarez great-double

    One of the winning team at the 2011 Copa America, Uruguay, the closer to the championship ladder after qualifying for the finals by bending Peru 2-0 on Tuesday (19/07/2011) . Luis Suarez became a star thanks to two goals.

    Playing at La Plata, Argentina, Uruguay appears more dominant in terms of attacking, though not without resistance Peru. However, not many real opportunities are created in most of the first round.

    New in the second half the score changed. In 52 minutes, with a rebound shot to Diego Forlan who had muted goalkeeper Raul Fernandez, Suarez had struck the ball into the goal Peru. Uruguay a 1-0 lead.

    Only five minutes later, Suarez doubled the advantage his team after receiving feedback from the midfield Alvaro Pereira. Liverpool attacker was at once adding a collection of his tally to three, the top scorer while with a team Sergio Aguero (Argentina) has been eliminated.

    Peru, which first appeared in the semifinals since winning the Copa, 1975, must complete the game with 10 men. The captain, Juan Vargas, red card for elbowing defender opposing team, Sebastian Coertes, in the middle of the second half.

    Uruguay, who last year performed brilliantly with penetrate the semi-final World Cup in South Africa, will be his first diving final at the Copa since 1999. At that time they only finished runner-up after Brazil defeated 0-3.

    The last time La Celeste squad won the South American tournament is the 1995 edition at home. At the top of the party they beat Brazil on penalties.

    Uruguay will next face Paraguay or Venezuela, who will play their semi-final match tomorrow (21 / 7) . Final was held in Buenos Aires on July 23 or next Sunday.

    Team Line-up:
    Peru: Raúl Fernández; Walter Vilchez, Santiago Acasiete, Alberto Rodríguez; Juan Manuel Vargas Risco, Paulo Rinaldo Cruzado, Giancarlo Carmona, Adan Balbín, Victor Yotun; José Paolo Guerrero, Luis Advincula Castrillon

    Uruguay: Néstor Fernando Muslera; Diego Lugano, Victor Maximiliano Pereira, José Martín Caceres, Sebastian Coates; Alvaro Pereira, Wálter Alejandro Gargano (Sebastian Eguren 71), Alvaro González, Egidio Arévalo; Diego Martín Forlán, Luis Suárez (Hernandez 70)


Leave a Reply